• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Meet the Dwarves – Quirky

Tuesdays are Quirky Days.

This is my first bio. Consequently, I want to talk about everything at once. But since I know well that no one wants to read a lengthy description of my bildungsroman from childhood to adulthood, I’ll stick with the short version of things.

Legos and building blocks were my toys as a child, so creativity had the perfect breeding ground in my head. Like wine, ideas mature into something much better than what they initially were, and as I grew older, my outlet for creativity could no longer be toys. I tried my hand at drawing, but my cousin one day suggested that I start writing. So, at sixteen, I sat down and started writing all sorts of fantasy. I received praise from my family, which is the highest anyone can ever ask for, and thought I was really good at it.

Yeah, I was wrong. Over a year ago, I joined a writer’s group in my local area and learned just how horrible at writing I was. But I’m no quitter. Mainly because I like writing a lot. I think it’s that rush I get when I’m writing with no outline, and I have no idea what’s going to happen next until I actually type the words on the page. Or maybe it’s that great feeling of accomplishment after a good, long edit.

Whatever the case, everything up until then was kiddy crap. Writing classes in high school and college were nothing compared to the real comments of adults who knew what they were doing and didn’t hold back. And as a result, I’m a better writer.

My regret? That I took a Creative Writing Degree in college, and everything I thought I would learn there I learned with real life experience.

Similar subject: I know I say I write Sci-Fi right now (was in my first post on my wordpress page) but the first words I ever wrote for the intent of a story were of fantasy, so don’t expect me to go forgetting my roots, or how I really started getting serious about writing.

Find Me:

Blog; http://kyletownsend.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

