• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Pantsing or Plotting

I am a pantsing kind of guy.  Writing is something that happens while I’m away.  My fingers hit the keys, but my head is in a galaxy far, far away.  I have stated before that my characters write the story.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea that somehow you can sit down and write an outline with plot points and character descriptions.  That isn’t how it works for me.

I can give you a recent example.  I decided to introduce a boyfriend for my main characters mother.  My original image was of an abusive, alcoholic man, who couldn’t keep a job.  He didn’t like that idea and wrote himself as a responsible  hard working man who takes a liking to his girl friends son and tries to help him through the minefield that is a teenagers life.  I don’t know how that happened and I’m afraid to ask to many questions.  It kind of like when you’re dreaming and you wake up shouting, “Cover me, I’m going in!”  That’s never happened to you? Oh, ah… never mind then.

My point is that I admire writers who know what they’re going to write then sit down and write it.  That’s just not me.  I keep notes on my characters and plot points, but only after they’re written.  I will sometime refer back to my notes to check and see if I’m being true to my character and not trying to push the story in a certain direction for reasons I probably don’t know or understand.

My writing flows when I become the the POV character.  That often requires me to go back and change elements in previous chapters that don’t work with the sudden left turn by one or more of the characters.  I usually put some music on when I write, I know the writing went well when I figure out the music stooped hours ago and I didn’t realize it.  If I’m aware of every noise or change around me the writing doesn’t flow.  It feels like I’m carving every letter into a concrete slab with abutter knife.

So that’s how I do it.

Read On,

Eerie Dwarf, AKA Dave Benneman

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

