• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Discipline in writing

I have none.

The end.

No, I’m just kidding. Mostly. Since I possess a writer’s multiple personality disorder, self-discipline is something of an enigma to me. If I “decide” to set a writing schedule (thereby attempting to be a responsible person who dreams of being a published writer someday), another part of my psyche jumps in and sets off a hand grenade. I’m being serious.

It’s a constant battle if I attempt self-discipline in my writing because the part of me that wants to be spontaneous, free, creative, etc. feels completely stifled by “rules”, “deadlines”, and “schedules”. The problem is — real life has all these things and I easily deal with them there. So, as with everything else, it requires balance and compromise. Sometimes I allow myself the freedom to write when I feel like it. Other times I set time aside and just force myself into it, if necessary. I’m still working on the self-discipline in writing, still hoping to find a successful, consistent formula. When I find all the answers, I’ll be sure to let you know. 🙂

But, I’ll be honest–one of the things that helps me the most is having other people believe in me and expect me to keep writing. Without my writer’s group, I’d be getting a lot less done, I’m sure. They are my anchor as well as my sails. I appreciate them more than they know.

Even though they are all Evil Dwarfs.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. dbenneman

     /  September 2, 2010

    I agree with you Gabrielle, the group is the glue that holds my creativity accountable and without it I know I wouldn’t be where I am today as a writer. Thanks for your insights.
    Dave Benneman

    Reply

Leave a Reply

