• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Creative Starters

            Every story has a beginning, and every beginning begins with an idea. This idea usually comes in the form of something really, really weird. Take for instance: A girl walks into a guy’s house. They’re friends. She believes in God. One of the walls in the house is possessed by a demon.

            What was that? That was weird, but it’s a beginning, though wholly unrefined. It would probably make more sense to just have the guy be an atheist and have the girl, a religious devout, have a conversation and let the story prance around the eggshells of religion. Then you have a story. But hey, it started with an odd idea right?

            I like to do that, right before I go to bed each night. I start with something weird, or something generic, or I just have a conversation between two characters in my head and I just let it go. Now, I probably won’t make a full story out of any of what I just thought, but if I go through enough conversations, enough imaginary situations each with a hundred different outcomes, I’ll eventually have something, though I won’t always know what.

            And you know what? That’s a Creative Starter. Just letting your mind go and have a bit of fun while you’re at it. Like I said, stories start with an idea, and that idea gets tested and refined only by the trials of a Creative Starter. It’s a circular thing… kind of.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

