• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Writing? Having a Life?

Writing and having a life? What exactly is that?

See, here’s my deal. I have four kids in age from 13 to 5. After school activities, sports, scouts (3 groups, 2 of which I’m a leader). Oh, and my darling husband. He’d very supportive, otherwise I’d have given up a long time ago.

Then, my jobs: Chauffeur, cook, housecleaner, laundress, homework helper & checker, bedtime story reader, blanket tucker in…

If I actually had a full time job outside the house I’d go crazy. Because I’m also a full time student at an online college.

Let me tell you about online colleges. THEY ROCK. (***IF you have the motivation and discipline to actually do the work without a teacher looking over your shoulder every day).

So, when do I find the time to write?

Now that all the kids are in school, I’ve found I have every weekday for myself. Mostly.

I don’t have a set schedule, but my mornings are devoted to writing and homework. I try to do some of both each day.

I have a schedule of due dates with school. Each lesson takes me a few hours. If I do 1 a day, that should give me a few hours for writing. Theoretically.

I’m a fast writer, and according to my group, very prolific.

But here’s my personal key: I don’t watch TV. I don’t surf the internet unless it’s necessary. (Mostly). I read, but not as much as I used to. In fact, I need to read more.

I think everyone has time to write. It’s not a matter of “When I find the time”, otherwise, most never will.

It’s a matter of priorities. When I wrote for myself, for pleasure, it didn’t happen very often because I never had the time.

When I decided to write to the goal of publication, I sat down and decided my writing was going to be a priority. Never before my family, but a close second, tied with school work.

At first, I could only find 10-15 minutes here or there. Man, you can get a lot of words down each day if you find even a few small bites of time. I carried a notepad everywhere and hand wrote.

Now I have my lovely Neo Alphasmart, and can type when I have the time, then upload to my computer. No more double the work J

So, you tell me. How do you find the time to write while having a life?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

