• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Autumn Equinox

Today marks the changing of the seasons, the dawn of yet another Fall in the Northern Hemisphere. (not that we can tell here in the Valley of the Sun! It’s still hot.) It’s a good time to look back on the year and see how things have changed in our own lives. What’s working? What’s not? How can each of us be just a little better each day?

For instance, I have recently decided to make a change in how and when I write. I’ve always struggled with consistency, so I set a goal and I’m working towards it now. Has it been perfect? Not even close. Have I done better by setting my sights on a more productive way? You bet. Not only that, I have learned how much I despise self-imposed schedules. (schedules set by other people, I seem to do pretty good with) So, this is a personal block I’ll have to work on, too.

What does all of this have to do with Fall?

Fall is a great time to take stock of the year so far. Then, decide what is working for you and leave the rest behind. Just like the leaves fall from the tree, letting go of anything that is holding you back can do wonders for the future. Anyone can think of a person or situation that is weighing on them right now. If there’s something you can do about it, then do it. If not, just let it go. Things have a way of working themselves out. By freeing the time and mental/emotional energy you may be committing to an unsolvable problem, you can invest that time into other areas of life. Writing, creating, being.

Today, I am working on laying down my “leaf” of the inner critic. It’s a large leaf that occasionally tries to smother me (even in my sleep, I suspect). It’s a process, but I’m committed to it. If I don’t find a way to let it go, a new leaf can never grow in its place.

I can’t wait to see what’s next. Happy Autumn Equinox.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

