• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Writing Versus Marketing

Greetings once again from the quagmire of my mind.  Thank you all for coming.  The mist is a little bit thicker than normal today.  Can you smell the rotting flesh wafting on the slight breeze.  Yeah, me too.  I think the thing that lives in swamp is especially hungry today.  Keep a sharp eye while we visit.  I wouldn’t want anything to happen to you.

On to the subject at hand.  I’ve stated before that I write because I have to.   I love to write.  I get great joy out of putting weird things down on paper.  Here is the rub.  The joy is multiplied when I can share what I write with others.  In order to share what I write I have to don a three piece suit, drink martinis and smoke cigars, in other words I have to become a salesman.  I hate sales.  I despise selling.  And I pretty much suck at it, too.

So here I have a novel completed and I’m already thinking up plots twists and quirky characters to inhabit the next one, but I have to spend my time writing a hook line, synopsis, and query letter.  This must be done if I’m going to share my story with people outside the sphere of my immediate influence.  Sharing is something I want to do, selling is something I loathe to do.  There is no solution to my problem mind you, I just thought I take a moment to whine.  Selling requires a whole other skill set that I was not blessed with.  But as they say in the southwest cowboy up.  So today I’m trying to quiet the voices in my head and I’m going to run full speed into the nether world of selling my soul to the Devil (also known as the Publisher).  I know he’s lurking out there in swamp waiting for me.  Very close to that smell I mentioned earlier I bet.  Wish me luck.

Todays quote comes from Earnest Hemingway.  “There is nothing to writing.  All you do is sit down and at a typewriter and bleed.”

Write On,

Dave Bennman AKA Eerie

http://www.davebenneman,com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

