• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Time

I recently had a couple interviews from other blogs and review sites. One question everyone likes to ask is how long it took to get published.

Now, I’ve been doing this long enough to know the snail the publishing industry is. The first book I seriously started submitting, I went to agents. Sure, there were a few close calls, but nothing panned out.

So, four years into the trek, I started trying E-Publishers with my paranormal romance/erotic romance. I belong to not a few online writers groups. From those, I was able to pitch to different editors. And most times I got a request.

I pitched Dragos: Burned through one of these groups to Changeling Press, got a full request, sent it in, and a month later had my very first contract.

At the time, it seemed like everything big was happening overnight. (Sometimes, it still feels like that).

But, truth is, I’ve been writing my whole life. I decided I wanted to share my stories with the world (which means published) about four years ago.

During that time, I’ve learned a lot, honed the craft, and found this wonderful group that has taught me more than all the online classes I could take in my lifetime.

So, it can happen.

The key, I think, is to always improve, and always persevere. Sure, rejections suck. They can get depressing.

Just before I got my contract from Changeling, I received two full requests from agents who sounded really excited. I thought, maybe, just maybe, here’s my chance.

Then, in the space of 24 hours, they both sent me rejections. One didn’t like my ‘voice’, which I totally get. Bummer. The other, luck let me down. She was a newer agent, actively acquiring authors. Then, one of her fellow agents quick, and she received a desk full of authors. I truly think this played a large part in the rejection, because she really liked my story.

So the saying one needs time, skill, talent AND luck, is completely true.

But look at me now.

One book is out, three more are scheduled. I have two short stories coming out soon.

I’m on my way — because I never gave up.

And you can be too 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

