• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Day 17 – I’m still on track and still breathing.

Nano rocks! Part of me can’t believe it (the part where I’ve managed to put my boot-heel on the neck of inconsistency for this many days in a row), and another part of me is reveling in it. (the part that keeps staring at the growing word count. Current total: 26,395 words.) Yes, my eyes almost bulge out of my head when I realize I’m over halfway there and still going strong. And, I’ll admit it (with great fear of jinxing myself) — it hasn’t been all that hard. I don’t know what in the hell I was whining about. Okay–making myself write is a royal pain in the butt some days–especially days like today.  But, I wrote anyway.

Maybe that’s the beauty of Nano. Maybe making a commitment and sharing it with the world via Twitter and the Nano tracking site pushes it to a higher priority, transforming it into an infant that demands daily attention. My screaming baby novel—oh, it’s so cute.

Only after I stop and give my Nano novel some loving attention (and at least 1667 words) does it settle down and put on a face any mother could love. See? Wouldn’t you keep writing if these adorable saucer eyes kept looking at you?

Writing this fast has allowed me to flesh out my characters in ways I’ve never done before, because I don’t have the luxury of over-thinking the direction they take the story. I just keep writing, and somehow, the characters keep finding ways to weave everything together–almost magically sometimes. Of course, I know I’ll have some major edits ahead of me (especially once the Evil 7 get a hold of it) but I think this story will have depth and complexity that my other stories haven’t fully realized.

I’m excited. I’m 13 days away from having a whole manuscript completed. Something I never thought I could do in just 30 days…I’m doing. It’s a truly amazing thing.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Go, Sunny, go. We’ll have roasted SnowWhite and candied apples to celebrate your newest edition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

