• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

OLD SONG NEW MEANING

Welcome back to the swamp, pull up a stump and make yourself at home.  I’ve kicked off those blues and things are returning  to normal.  The Swamp Thing is back and looking hungrier than ever so stay alert.  She hasn’t eaten any of my guests for a couple of weeks (okay days) you should be safe.  I’ve stayed close to home recovering from the post holiday blues and  out of the zombie zone.  Better known as the food court.

This week I managed to meet with an editor to discuss my completed novel, wrapped up chapter 2 of the next novel and started an outline for a new idea that I’m excited about. I also, got around to some of my responsibilities as an electrician, and contributor to my household.  Making Mrs. Eerie very happy and you know the old saying, happy wife happy life.

I’m pleased to report my muse is on the wagon and back at work, don’t tell him, but boy I missed him terribly.  With new ideas bouncing around my head and my muse back in the driver’s seat were off on another great adventure.

 

He’s giving me that sideways look I often get when he’s driving, the stub of a Pall Mall is smoldering from corner of his mouth and the smoke is caressing the side of his face before it lazily dissipates into the air.  I’ve asked him not to smoke in the car, but I might as well talk to the windshield.

“What?  I’m working here.  This is writing too, you know.”  He doesn’t agree that writing my blog is really writing.  He’s always making fun of it.  I better wrap this up before he stops the truck and… well I don’t want to think about the consequences.

This week I saw A Chorus Line on stage, I saw it years ago and although I remembered the music and funnier bits in the play, I was surprised at the message I took away this time.  If you don’t know, it’s a story about a group of dancers answering an audition call for a part in a Broadway play as member of the chorus line.  This not the most glamorous of jobs, the hours are long, the work is hard, and the pay is barely adequate.  Near the end of a grueling day of dance routines and difficult questions, one of the dancers gets injured.  Stopped cold, the choreographer asks his last question.  “What do you do when you can’t dance anymore?”   Their combined answer is summed up in the song ‘What I Did For Love’ “Won’t forget, can’t regret what I did for love.”

You see the message I got was that it doesn’t matter, they dance because they must, because they love it, because it is who they are, they are dancers.

Authors are cut from the same cloth.  We don’t write for money or notoriety.  We write because we must, because we love it, it is who we are, we are authors.

Until next week; do what you love and love what you do.

This week’s quote comes from SELF-PORTRAIT by David White

“I want to know if you are willing to live, day by day with the consequence of love and the bitter unwanted passion of your sure defeat.  I’ve heard, in that fierce embrace, even the gods speak of God.

Write on,

Eerie AKA Dave Benneman


 

 



Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

