• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

SELF EDITING

What should you pack when venturing into the breach of a zombie  infestation.  First weapons, I prefer sharp weapons with a fair amount of reach.  Guns jam and run out of bullets, but a good sharp sword will slice and dice all day and night.  A slab of raw meat always works as a temporary distraction when being chased by a shambling horde.  Don’t forget your back up weapons.  A good aluminum baseball bat is my choice.   A light weight poncho to protect you from bodily fluids.  Have I mentioned weapons yet?  Oh yeah,  well you can’t have to many, a sword walking stick is  a nice accessory.  Sunglasses, because it is better to look good than to feel good.  A durable machete is always an asset for close in beheadings.  And last but not least don’t skimp on the foot wear a durable high top trainer is best for fast starts out of the blocks.  Now that your packed make sure your hydrated and in good shape for short sprints.  Now go out there and take off some heads.

Self editing, what can I say about it that hasn’t already been blended to a smooth frothy texture.  It’s a lot like taking a crap, it stinks while you doing it, but it feels better when your done.  My problem is if I could see the things I do wrong I wouldn’t do them wrong in the first place.  For instance; I’m  spell poorly, before the advent of spell check( a most wonderous tool )  I would go to the dictionary for the correct spelling of a word.  Of course (and this is the funny part) you must know how to spell the word in order to find it in the dictionary so you can check your spelling.  You see what I mean.  It’s some academic’s  idea of a bad joke, I’m sure of it. So getting back to the point here.

When I read over something I’ve written and let’s say I shift point of view.  If I didn’t  recognize it the first time how am I going to see it the second time I read through the piece.  Sometimes I feel like Jim Carrey’s character in ‘Liar Liar’  You know the scene when he’s in the bathroom beating himself up and a guy says to him.   “What are doing?”   He answers matter factley, “I’m kicking my own ass.”  Sometimes I feel like I’m kicking my own ass.

I’m glad I got that off my chest.  You might suspect by now that I’ve been editing my novel.  You would be correct sir.  Writing this blog has been a refreshing diversion.  I hope it was good for you, too.

This weeks quote comes to us anonymously.

“First drafts don’t have to be perfect.  They just have to be written”

Write On,

Eerie

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

