• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Riddle me this…

I mentioned that Mischievous Raven was running an errand last week, today I can share what we’ve been up to.  We are planning an excursion into Troll country.  First we’ll have to cross the Unseelie River which requires us to out riddle the toll troll in order use the bridge.  Not being very good at riddles myself I asked Mischievous who is a master of the repartee to handle it.  So we’re off this morning to travel through the troll mountains.  This is a marvelous opportunity to take in some fresh  mountain air and kick the swamp mud out from between our toes.

So what kind of riddles did you come up with?

“You’ll see soon enough there’s the bridge now.”

“Where is that awful smell coming from?”  a voice bellows from below the bridge.

“I say there tall, hairy and ugly move aside and let us pass.”

You will pass my tonsils on the way to my gullet.

“I doubt that very much.  What always runs but never walks, often murmurs, never talks, has a bed but never sleeps, has a mouth but never eats?”

The troll scratches his head and other things that we’ll just ignore for now.  “How many guesses do I get?”

“How many riddles must be parried?”

Is that another riddle?”

“Do you have an older brother with a brain?”

“I know that one.”

Eerie this is not going very well, This is what we’ll do.  I’ll ask another riddle and when he scratches his head and his hair falls in front of his eyes you guys run. Once you’re safely across I’ll fly over.

“Hey, what’s with the whispering?” The troll asked with one hand behind his ear.  “I can hear every word you say.”

“No you can’t,” M.R.

“Yes i can,” Troll.

“Can’t,” M.R.

“Can.” Troll.

“Bottle,” M.R.

“Cap.” Troll.

“Run,” M.R.

“Walk,” Troll.

“Crawl,” M.R.

Okay Mischievous we made it.

Until I am measured
I am not known,
Yet how you miss me                                                                                                
When I have flown. 

“Huh, I like the other game better.” Troll.

“See you wouldn’t want to be you,” M.R.

Good job Mischievous.

“I don’t know who put him in charge of the bridge but I don’t think I ever met a dumber troll, and they’re not exactly known for wit.”

Just the same we’re across the bridge and you’ve still got riddles left in case we need them.

“That I do Eerie.”

It’s about time for us to say farewell for this week.

“Farewell for this week,” M.R.

Mischievous and I will continue  our journey into Troll Mountain.  As is our custom we will leave you with a quote from Jeanette Winterson.

“I believe in communication; books communicate ideas and make bridges between people.”

Write On,

Eerie

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

