• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

On the Precipice

Good news, fellow dwarves!  I am a chapter away from finishing the third draft of my Novel (the one you have been critiquing so diligently–many continued thanks).  It’s always exciting to be on the edge of being done with a huge manuscript, especially when you’ve been slaving away for it for a long time.  This particular draft started last November and should hopefully end before then.  I’m keen to take a break and try my hand at NaNoWriMo with all new material.

I really appreciate NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, for all the uninitiated*).  It’s not the be all and end all of writing, of course, but finally having a goal (50,000 words) and deadline (one month) set me into a proper writer’s mode in college.  NaNoWriMo was the first time I finished a manuscript of any particular length.  The story was awful, my characters were beyond juvenile, and the dialogue stilted, but it was a novel (or a novella, at least) and for the first time, I realized that to be a writer, I had to, you know, write…consistently.  Sometimes *gasp* every day!  Quantity, not quality, was my friend.

Of course now I’ve completed a few more manuscripts, some NaNo and some not.  I’ve been slowly weaning myself away from super strict word counts and one-month deadlines, trying to get to that quality level.  But I’m grateful to NaNo for getting me to this point in the first place and I still think it’s a good tool for first drafts.  Plus, there’s something exciting about facing a challenge like this, especially as the holidays approach and social events can threaten that sacred time alone with Microsoft Word, your notebook, or fancy typing machine.

So here’s to endings and beginnings and everything in-between!  I’ll see you all next time, assuming the zombies don’t get you first.  May the Force be with you, always.

*Although I’m assuming there aren’t that many, if any, on this blog.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. WOO HOO! Way to go, Jedi Dwarf! May the force be with you!
    Wicked

    Reply
  2. susanff

     /  October 30, 2011

    Thanks! I’m gonna need it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

