• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

First Drafts

I love first drafts.  I’m pleased to say that I’m currently in the middle of a new one for NaNoWriMo and that while I’m a day behind, it is progressing.  Part of the fun of NaNo is just putting down junk, turning that inner editor off and saying, “screw it, I’m gonna write as many adjectives and adverbs as I want and no one can stop me!” (Your option whether or not to insert maniacal laughter here; I often do.)

But there’s also that first burst of creativity, the rush of new characters, and the heedless joy at dialogue that while objectively awful, seems inspired at the time.  You are the creator of whole new worlds, born to breathe life into being!  There’s also the rush of throwing in random things when you start to feel a little uninspired.  Need a new character halfway into the story?  Throw him in!  Pretend he was there all along.  You can always fix it later.

I have learned though, that the more random things you do, the more ends you leave loose at the very beginning, the more clean-up you’ll do later.  NaNo is good for getting everything out and down so you can work with it.  A lot of people need that.  I know I did when I was first starting out.  But is NaNo always good?

I’ve found myself struggling with NaNo this year.  I’d gotten used to the slow write, the burn that builds up over months and months as you back story, research, cross-reference, and fine-tune (and believe me, I’ve still got a long way to go).  And this year, I’ve been struggling to get into the 2,000 words a day this year, not just because of my internal editor, but because I can’t write quality and quantity.  I can’t have it both ways.  It has been frustrating at times, to say the least.

I may ditch NaNo after this year, if what I’ve seen shows it’s become less of an effective tool for me as a writer. I don’t know yet, I’m still in the early 20,000’s and this draft is still developing.  But that doesn’t mean I would abandon the idea of getting first drafts down in a NaNo-like form.  Just maybe not in such a strict formula.

In the meantime, I’ll keep plugging away.  Take care, friends, and happy writing.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

