• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Inspiration

“Do or do not.  There is no try.”

So says Yoda, one of the greatest Jedi Masters of them all.  As a student of the ways of the Force, I try and implement this strategy in my writing life.  It’s not easy though.  People will talk about “inspiration,” and how they’re just waiting for their muse to come down and strike them with the right idea.  The clouds will part, the sun will shine, and suddenly they will know the right words to put down on the page.

I used to be one of those people.  Sometimes, truthfully, I still am.  But I’ve had to learn the hard way that the best way to write is just to write.  Not to make lists and endless back stories.  Not to spend an inordinate amount of time on diagrams, timelines, maps, and family trees.  Now, I’m not saying not to do these things.  They are helpful instruments and sometimes the only way you can order your thoughts is by scribbling things out in an outline, whether you use it later or not.

But if you wait for inspiration to write the perfect story, you’ll be waiting forever.

I am no Jedi Master yet.  I have had to relearn this lesson about inspiration over and over and over again.  I have resolved this year to pick up on that pace in my writing and also in my blogging.  I’m tired of Yoda hitting me over the head with his walking stick and I really do owe my fellow dwarves more for all they’ve done.

So back to the grindstone.  Welcome to 2012, all.  Now get off that couch and do.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

