• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Interview ~ Author Emily Cale

Please welcome the lovely Emily Cale to our blog today!

Emily Cale spent the majority of her childhood as a visitor to the worlds of her favorite authors. With encouragement from her English teachers, she put pen to paper and began imagining her own stories. Preferring the fascinating lives of her characters, she majored in creative writing. When not lost in a manuscript or a good book, she enjoys crocheting, rock climbing, and playing board games. She currently lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, with her husband and a very spoiled cat.

What is a typical day for you like writing-wise?

I don’t have a typical day. My full-time job is being a PhD student and I work as a researcher for the University as well in return for my tuition. Depending on the week, I may get to devote an entire day to writing or only work on writing stuff at night. In general, I tend to work in batches, getting a ton done on school stuff one week and then switching the next week to focusing on my author duties.

What’s the first thing you did when you received word you’d sold a book?

I was actually working out of the country at the time in India and arrived in the office to find the email from a publisher saying they wanted my book TAMED. I was all alone and started crying and sending my husband IM messages that he needed to call me. Fortunately he got them (at probably 1AM his time) and called and listed to all the crazy sobbing that came before I was able to tell him about the email. No one I work with knows about my secret double life, so I then ate a half melted Twix bar that I’d bought to save for a special occasion.

If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as one of your hero’s? Heroine’s?

My book actually has two heroines, so I guess I have to pick 2 women. Sam would be played by Reese Witherspoon. I’ve always loved watching her on the screen and I think that while she can look shy and unassuming, she has a lot of passion and spunk that shows through.

Lucy would be played by Anne Hathaway. She has been one of my favorite actresses since The Princess Diaries. I think Lucy undergoes a similar growth in the book to what Mia went through in that book/movies (from shy and unsure to much more confidents) and Ann would pull it off beautifully.

If you could be any animal, what would it be (real or magical)? Why?

I would be my cat. The little fluff ball spends 75% of her day sleeping in sun spots around the house and the other 25% eating and being petted. She is spoiled rotten and seems to have everything figured out.

What’s your favorite color? Do you decorate your space and/or dress in this color often?

Yellow is my absolute favorite color and always has been (I never had a pink phase). I think it is because my baby blankets were all yellow and green. The downside is that yellow is not a color that lends itself to clothing very well. I don’t have the coloring to pull off my shades, so I have to enjoy it in
little accessories instead. I’m trying to convince my husband to let me paint a room in our house yellow, but I’m currently losing the battle.

If you could time-travel, where would you go and why?

I wouldn’t want to go the future because I wouldn’t want to spoil anything, so I think I’d go back to 1925 London. I’ve always loved the fashion of the 20s and that time in general seems to be full of fun.

Why are manhole covers round?

(Confession: I asked my engineer husband) Two main theories: 1) Manhole covers are very heavy and the shape makes them easy to roll out of the way by workers (much harder if they were squares are triangles) and 2) A round shape doesn’t have a correct orientation, so it can’t accidently be put on and then fall down into sewer. This allows for fewer mistakes and frustrations.

Do you have any upcoming news you’d like to share?

I have another release coming out February 3rd with Breathless Press. This one is an m/f contemporary western and is the first in my Rodeo Stars series.

 And the Fast Five:

Coffee or Chocolate?

That’s an impossibly question. I want both. At all times. I’ll take a mocha if you’re offering.

Jewelry: Precious gems or gold?

Definitely gems.

Beach or Mountains?

Beach. Though I’ll happily settle for mountains since I’m currently living without either.

Early Morning or Late Night?

If I got to choose, I’d pick early morning. Unfortunately my schedule doesn’t allow for that choice, so I’m usually up late.

Fruit or Veggies?

Fruit!

And last, but not least, where can we find you on the internet:

I’m always on the internet. I blog semi-frequently (http://www.emilycale.blogspot.com) and spend way too much time on Twitter (http://www.twitter.com/emilycale). I also welcome feedback from readers who can email me at Emily.a.cale@gmail.com

Release Date: January 20, 2012

Buy Link(s):

Decadent Publishing: http://www.decadentpublishing.com/product_info.php?products_id=448&osCsid=k53gm93p0ek26d54p935na45b7

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Public-Display-Affection-Night-ebook/dp/B006ZIHUBS/ref=tag_stp_s2f_edpp_emily_cale

All Romance Ebooks: http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-publicdisplayofaffection-673179-144.html

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for hosting me today. This interview was tons of fun.

    Reply
  2. Nice job Amber. You really through her fastballs. Chocolate or coffee indeed.
    Thanks for your insights Emily.

    Reply
  3. Heck, yeah.

    Coffee or chocolate is a hard choice. I coulnd’t choose, and would be right there with Emily 🙂

    Reply
  4. vanillamom

     /  February 3, 2012

    LOL…

    Just found your blog *because* of this interview…and looking forward to getting “acquainted”….and btw…chocolate (i’m a tea drinker, myself)

    nilla

    Reply

Leave a Reply

