• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Ready, Set…Edit!

Oh, if only it were that easy.

What editing feels like: fighting back against near-impossible odds.

Yes, I’m finally set to edit The Novel, readers, which means combing through at least seven other sets of comments (thank you, dwarves!), cutting, slicing, dicing, perfecting, and doing all sorts of other moves best left to lightsabers and the even more deadly red-Sith pens of doom.

And I can tell you I’m not exactly psyched.

This is round number four of editing, although the story–a young adult fantasy where two teen elemental mages face a witch of an English teacher–has been in my head for about ten years.  Thanks to Nano, I was able to get this story out of my Hello Kitty notebook and into a quasi-novel form a few years ago.  Now I can feel the end coming, but it seems there’s so much work to do.

My motivation is low, I keep getting distracted by new story ideas (which conveniently, were all missing the last time I wasn’t ready to edit) and other fictional worlds.

That is why I’m considering NaNoEdMo.

I haven’t decided yet, as I get the feeling this little goal/project (at least 50 hours of editing  in the month of March) might be a little too contest-like.  However, like its larger parent project, it might be a good way to start, or at least another good kick in the tunic besides the dwarves’ continual patience and help.

I’ll be scouring around for good editing tips and (hopefully) passing along some of my own as I face this challenge.

Does anyone have experience with NaNoEdMo? How do you cope with editing?  Any tips, tricks, or stinkers?

May the Force be with you,

Jedi

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I enjoyed today’s post very much. Thanks for sharing.

    Enjoy writing? Join us today

    Writers Wanted

    Reply
  2. vanillamom

     /  February 5, 2012

    oh! Oh! I’d not heard of Nanoedmo!!! I did write during Nov…and have only edited ch. 1 of what i wrote…and it’s a task that i’ve been procrastinating about ever since…and i rarely do that.

    i’m so going to have to check that out!

    Thanks a ton!

    And good luck with your editing ….

    nilla

    Reply
    • Susan Foss

       /  February 6, 2012

      You’re welcome! Glad I could help you join in on the agon–I mean, joy of editing. 😉

      And thanks. I’m gonna need it…

      Reply
  3. Ah, yes. The agony of editing. I know it well. It is one of those things we do not because we want to, but because at the end of the day our story demands to be heard. Deserves to be heard. And we all know that no matter how perfect that adjective sounded the day we wrote it–it must go. Good luck to all those starting out on this arduous trail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

