• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Meanwhile Back at the Monastery

Greetings and Salutations Glorious Readers of the Blog,

As you can see Mischievous Raven and I have finally been granted entrance into the Monastery of the Werewolf Monks.  I know, right it’s pretty cool if you haven’t been before.  Let me show you around, Brother Lon will accompany us but he cannot talk, there is always a vow of silence after the full moon hunt.  Lead on Brother Lon.  This is the library and the thing the Monastery is most well-known for.  As you can see it is packed with books and scrolls going back thousands of years.  The best stuff is up ahead here.  Scholars from all over the world come here to study about the strange and sometimes horrible creatures that roam  the planet right under the noses of the unsuspecting general public.  This is where I did my research on Vampires.  They have an entire section on Vlad The Impaler.  Rumor has it that Vlad himself comes over to review the library from time to time.  You know of course he stays at the Dakota right off Central Park most of the year.  He does, I’m not kidding.  You should come back and spend some time here.  Libraries are the best places to meet interesting people.  Down those steps is where the wines are made.  You can only go there once a year when they turn out their new vintages.  They have a big tasting it’s a regular who’s who event, very A list.  The rest of the year it’s off-limits.  No, I’ve never been, I’m sure it’s a clerical over site.  That’s the chapel,  up here are the quarters for the monks.  The guest rooms are on the next couple floors.  Above that is the observatory where they plot the moon and star movements.  You can visit Brother Al up there after sundown and he’ll show you around.  You can even have a look through the peeper if you like.  Brother Lon is directing us toward the dining room.  It must be dinner time.  Go have a bite I’ll see you later.  I’m going to catch up my muse and go over a few things we wrote last week before he ditched me.

I just wrote a short piece which came right out of nowhere for me.  The strange thing about the story is, it has no dialogue.  That in itself isn’t strange, but it is strange for me.  I’ve been told that I have a gift for dialogue.  So to write a piece without a single spoken word for over 2,500 words was really odd for me.  It got me to thinking about what makes dialogue flow.  Now if I have a gift it is God-given and not something I learned, and my friends will tell you I was out to lunch when God was giving such gifts as Grammar, Spelling, Point of View, and Tenses, among other things.  But they seem to agree I do pretty decent dialogue.

This is what came to me,( totally my opinion here folks).  I thinks that when writing is flowing for me I’m in the characters head.  Almost like a movie is playing out the scene.  I hear what the character is saying and it comes out in his/her voice not mine.  And if I’m really there I hear the replies from whoever as if I am the character.  This makes the other voices authentic because they have to sound right to the POV character or I get pulled out of the scene.  When I struggle the most is when I’m not hearing what my character is hears.  This all sounds very WOO-WOO, but it’s the best way I describe what happens.  When I put myself in the scene and hear what is said I know if it sounds right or not.  One trick I use to help with this is I read my dialogue back out loud.  I’ll never be one who reads for audio books, but I try to put inflection in the speech.  In effect give the character a voice, not one I hear in my head but actually hear.  I am but a lowly scribbler and I don’t want this to sound like a lecture so I’m going to quit here.  If you have some thoughts on dialogue send me a comment.  And if you struggle with getting your characters to sound natural try hearing it, listen for the nuances.  As is our custom here at the swamp I’ll leave you with this appropriate quote.

When writing a novel a writer should create living people; not characters. A character is a caricature.

Ernest Hemingway 

Write On,

Eerie

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for all the great information of dialogue. It is definitely an area I struggle in, so I took some notes in my head. Oh, and your short story was amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

