• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

A Feast of Books (Or A Feast In Books)

                I will admit to a minor obsession with food. I mean I’m not hiding it under my bed at night but when on vacation the first thing I’m interested in is food. When I leave school or work the thing I’m looking forward to is dinner. To top it off I don’t discriminate when it comes to food aka I am not a picky eater. Luckily for me I have found kindred souls in The 7 Evil Dwarves that involve monthly smorgasbords, thanks to Smoky. You guys don’t even want to know what we put away at our retreat but I will say I was both proud and slightly disturbed.

               So, along with real food I have also always loved stories that described the food to readers. I mean who doesn’t love reading about the feasts in the Harry Potter series? One of my first great literary experiences was reading The Phantom Tollbooth and being mesmerized by how Juster described the way the alphabet tasted. Okay, okay, maybe I’m just a fat kid but tell me that the letter “A” tastes like a jelly donut and I’m intrigued (I don’t actually remember specifically what Juster said the letter “A” tasted like, so don’t quote me on this).

                As a result of this food obsession I find that I put a lot of emphasis on food in my own works. I have characters who go out of their way to find the best food possible and I describe meals. I love it, but it’s a bit like Pinterest in that I’m starving by the time I’ve finished. So what do you guys think about food in literature? Are you a “I want my cake, and will read it too” kind of guy or gal? Or are you not a fan? Perhaps more of a “I will leave my cake in the bakery where it belongs, thank you.” Well I am off to get some enchiladas! Happy Saturday!

 

Mighty  

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Now I’m hungry, again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

