• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

To NaNo or Not To NaNo?

Did you see that blur? Were you able to make out the bits of green of Spring 2012? Or the shimmery waves of heat of Summer 2012?  Did you miss the burnished coppers of the impending Fall 2012?  I sure did.  As a matter of fact, when I bothered to poke my head up lately, do you know what was staring back at me?

NaNo.

Oh yes, it is time to start wondering the age-old question-To NaNo or not to NaNo.

Last year, I wimped out.  I used the fact I was tying up Shadow’s Soul not to participate, but let’s be honest…NaNo is intimidating.

For those of you not familiar with NANO, never fear, it will soon become the relative/friend who dropped by for a night and didn’t leave for years.  NaNo is National Writing Novel Month and is also identified by the name NaNoWriMo.  It happens every November–no matter if the Mayans are correct or not, it will still be here in 2013.  It will haunt your computer, stalk you in the wee hours of the morning, and taunt you late at night while you’re enjoying your primetime shows.  It whispers to you–“Come on, you know you could be putting these voices to paper here!”  One month, where every day you write-1 line or 1,000, doesn’t matter. What matters is you write–no Inner Editors allowed. They’ve been banned to the kiddie table in the corner and they are not allowed to speak.

So although I’m still working on Shadow’s Moon, trying desperately to drag it to completion by the end of the year, I’m actually starting to listen to the sibilant whispers of NaNo. Perhaps I’ll start doing some research, sit down for coffee with some characters and poke around, play God and create some new worlds…tempting.

Anyone else out there starting to get the itch to prepare?  Are you looking at a HazMat suit to get through it or are you more the flip-flop and Hawaiian shirt type? C’mon, share…we want to know who else is going to go insane in November.

PS–Come on over to Cynthia Woolf’s place on the 25th of August as I pop over for an interview.  If you comment you get a chance to win something cool!

 

–Wicked

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I believe I was dragged kicking and screaming into halfheartedly agreeing to Nano this year. How does this crap happen to me?

    Reply
    • Oh suck it up, Eerie. If I have to do this, so do you. I refuse to suffer alone! I’ll pester you and we have two months to drag up our big kid britches!

      Reply
  2. Yikes that’s coming soon. I have only done NaNo once and failed. Perhaps this year I could be victorious!

    Reply
    • Feel free to trod over both my and Eerie’s bloody carcasess as you take on the NaNo journey. We may be dragging bloody stumps by the end of it!

      Reply
  1. Two Prompts and NaNoWritMo « Allison's Book Bag
  2. A Closer Look « Allison's Book Bag
  3. Will You Be Nano-ing? | The View Outside

Leave a Reply

