• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

BLUE MOON

Greetings and Salutations loyal readers of the blog.

Today let’s catch up on the goings on around the Swamp.  Blue Moon Zombie Inc. is doing great since I made Mischievous VP in charge of marketing.  I’ve had to hire the Swamp Thing to help keep the zombies on a strict organic diet.  The problem with letting them free range is you never know what they’re getting into.   But the FDA gets fussy if you advertise free range totally organic zombies and your zombies get into hazardous waste.  The Swamp Thing has a way about her that will keep them in line.  I think it’s her nasty disposition and proclivity toward a violent solution to any problem.  She negotiated a very tough contract with good compensation and a heck of a benefits package, but who’s going argue with her.

You may recall from two weeks ago the leeches went on strike, because of what they said was inflammatory and prejudice remarks about them in the media.  Nobody seems to care except the Wharf Rats who are in town on some kind of convention.  Apparently they use the leeches in some game or other.  There are some leeches crossing the picket lines and the occasional skirmish breaks out.  There hasn’t been too much blood shed yet.  I guess that makes them scabs.  I wonder how they feel about them politically incorrect apples.

I heard the Knights of the Idiotic Table had to shut down The Swamp Shack this week because the muses got out of hand.  My muse is being held for conduct not becoming a muse.  Because we are in the midst of the lazy days of summer in the Swamp, the Evil Seven haven’t been keeping their respective muses very busy, I’m afraid.   If  C. Rock Adile  will open the bail bond office I bail out my muse when we’re finished here.  I’ll have to put his Armoured Hummer up for collateral.

In other news around the swamp today we will see a Blue Moon.  You heard me correctly.  This very night when the moon hits its full splendor it will be the second time this month.  This will be your last time to see a Blue Moon until 2015.  According to Brother Grey Whiskers, at the Monastery of the Werewolf Monks, Blue Moons are not that rare, occurring every 2.7 years on average.  But I can tell you that it is still very much a celebration at the Monastery today with The Marcels song Blue Moon playing over and over again while the monks prepare for an evening of decadent excess.  Brother Grey Whiskers told me the last time they had a Blue Moon celebration was in December of 2009.  He added that years with two Blue Moons are truly rare and the last time it happened was in 1999.

“Now that was an event not to be missed,” He smiled wistfully.  “We partied like it was, well…1999.”

The next double Blue Moon will happen in 2018, stick around. I’ve been promised back stage passes to the festivities at The Monastery.

Next week we’ll get back to talking about writing again.  Promise.  Right now I have to go bail out my muse. He and I have to get ready for November.  What is so special about November you ask.  It is the month where writers from across the universe go nuts and write fifty-thousand words in one month.  It seems I’ve been coerced, compelled, threatened, cajoled, pushed, dragged, pressured, forced, bullied, browbeat, railroaded, and dragooned into participating this year.  Did I mention against my will and better judgement.

Snarky Dwarf’s whip was freshly polished and just waiting for some excuse as to why I can’t Nano again this year.  In spite of the shiny black leather whip winking at me from across the table I tried.   My dog ate my laptop, crack, I have temporary amnesia, crack, Mars is in retrograde, crack, the world is going to end in December 2012 crack, Starbucks might run out of espresso (short hesitation then) crack crack.

“The second one was for even suggesting such a catastrophic thing could even happen.”  Snarky glared.

Wicked sat next to me Merrily Tumbling along as the whole scene played out.  “Psst. Quit while you still have a head.”

“So, Nano it is.” I said cheerfully, while licking my wounds.

Next week we’ll talk about how adverbs and adjectives can be your friend during November. CRACK!

That one is really going to hurt tomorrow.

Enjoy tonight’s Blue Moon and stay clear of the Monastery until dawn.  This week I’ll leave you with a verse from Nights In White Satin written by Justin Hayward of The Moody Blues.

Cold hearted orb
That rules the night
Removes the colours
From our sight
Red is gray and 
Yellow white
But we decide
Which is right 
And 
Which is an Illusion

Write On,

Eerie Dwarf

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

