• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Indonesia magical and beautiful

Munduk, Bali

Greetings and salutations most discerning visitors of the swamp,

This weeks post is coming to you from Munduk, Bali via the magic of the internet.  My sojourn to The archipelago of Indonesia is nearly at an end and I can’t say I’m homesick.  Of course I miss my friends, but the constant assault on all my senses has kept me from thinking about the warm ooze from home.

Munduk is a small mountainside village with warm afternoons and cool evenings.  It is also the home of Bali’s coffee plantations.  If like me you think of a plantation as a large flat area where farmers drive tractors you would be as surprised as I was.  The coffee trees grow on a steep mountainside.  Narrow paths woven through the trees are the only access to tending and harvesting the crop.  Everything is carried in and out or should I say up and down on foot.

Anyone who knows me can attest to my love of (or obsession with) coffee.  So two

coffee blossoms

days and nights in a villa perched on the side of a mountain amidst flowering coffee trees is like a slice of heaven.  White blossoms cover the trees and the paths are cushioned with the fallen blooms of the last crop.  Clove trees and gladioli are interspersed among the coffee filling the air with wonderful fragrances.

The coffee, have I mentioned the coffee?, is of course wonderful.  The Balinese know how to brew a great cup and I’ve had more than my

share during my time in Bali.  But here in Munduk, they are even more serious.  Each cup or pot starts with freshly ground beans, then into a french press until it is just the right strength.  I’m going to cut this short this week and enjoy my last few days.  I know you will understand.  Next week I’ll be back at the grindstone

Coffee beans, nectar of the Gods

armed with a boat full of memories.

Write On,

Eerie

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

