• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Experiences with a terrible book

I rarely read bad books, mostly because whatever book I set my sights on next goes through a grueling process of first expert opinion from friendly avid readers, then second through careful research. If the book passes both, it goes on my list of books to read next.

You know how life gets sometimes though, small things like updating said list gets pushed to the side, and I’m left with no more books piled on my dresser to read. That’s usually when, desperate for really anything to read, I pick up a terrible book.

Now, I’ve got some high standards and my interests are as niche as they come, so please don’t get offended when I say I picked up the famous John Grisham and can’t read more than ten pages without getting completely and utterly bored. The Firm seemed like a good read. It was thick, had a nice cover that reminded me it was now a hit series on NBC, and was a genre I kept reminding myself I needed to read more often; mystery. But damn I say, it really is 100% through and through boring. Maybe because there’s no aliens or magic, or both. Again, I’m very niche. But from my reading/writing experience, I’m certain every character in the story isn’t supposed to sound like the same person, even the women. I’m sure the dialogue shouldn’t sound like monologue, and I’m sure the author shouldn’t remind me ever twenty pages or so of a man’s sexual affinity for voyeurism. I get it. He likes to beat off to the sounds of another’s love-making. Don’t remind me eight times in the first two hundred pages.

But this post isn’t to gripe about my recent read (even though it kinda is), it’s to remind you, dear reader, to pick your books with care and love. Your reading time is precious time, and it’s true that if the book doesn’t capture you in the first few pages and then the next few chapters, don’t read it. I picked up The Firm without even peeling the cover.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

