• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

How Should a Book End?

Recently, I finished the first book in a trilogy.  I loved reading this book.  It was exciting, the characters were interesting, and I never knew quite what to expect.  But then, I got to the end.  It was disappointing to say the least.  I’ve always believed that if a reader dives into an author’s world and gets caught up in an imaginary world, the reader is owed something for this trust.  I feel like by the end of the book, even if it is a series, the reader should discover the answers to at least one of the secrets that have kept them reading.  This book, however, simply ended as if it was the end of a chapter, not the end of the book.

My husband asked me if I enjoyed the book, since I seemed so disappointed.  I told him that I had, but I felt a little gypped by the author.  I’ve already ordered the next book in the series, so I still definitely enjoyed the book, but this whole experience got me wondering about how a book should end.  Do you think there needs to be some kind of epiphany on the part of the reader by the end of the book?  Do you feel the reader deserves to get some of their questions answered?

I’m constantly expanding and changing the way I see books, so my current belief may eventually change as I am exposed to more and more books, but for now, I feel a reader deserves a little more than to be led on, without being given any answers in exchange for their time.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love series. I like getting to stay in a world I’ve come to enjoy for as long as possible. However, for me personally, each book should be self contained and answer their unique story questions. They may leave lines dangling in the overall series arc, but for those characters in that particular situation, yep, there should be some sort of resolution that leaves them and the readers in a good place. But, again, that’s just me. There are stories out there that haunt you because they never answer everything. Heck, even TV series do that. Some writers do it deliberately, because they want you to fill in the blanks. So this is one of those blur the lines questions…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

