• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

A NEW MASTER?

hwabuttonGreetings and Salutations loyal readers of the blog,

I have been remiss in fulfilling my obligation to blog once a week. This is not acceptable so I’m holding myself accountable here. I let my panties get in a bunch due to the overwhelming lack of a response I received from my last post. With that said I will do my utmost not to be absent again.

Now that I’ve fallen on my sword and exposed my sensitive nature to both readers of my blog lets move on.

I don’t normally do book reviews on my blog post, but we are shooting for the exceptions today. If you are not living under a rock you probably know that Joe Hill’s new novel NOS4A2 hit the book stores late last month. I read Joe’s most recent work over two days. An unusual feat for me.

NOS4A2 by Joe HillNo spoilers here! 
What I will tell you is Mr. Hill’s love of words comes through in the careful way he weaves them together to create characters, who took me by the hand and lead me into a world I didn’t always want to be a part of. Yet, I was unable to pull my eyes away from the page. Joe’s phrases raised a visceral response in me. I found myself pacing the house, the book resting in one hand, turning pages with the other. Sometimes agitated, other times nervous, but always responding to Mr. Hill’s flexing of my reality . The language throughout this novel is exactly what all authors would like to be able to deliver. Joe has broken down the wall between Literary and Genre Horror with a heavy hammer. He is not the first to do so, but it is encouraging to see another author pull another brick out of that wall. 


As a writer myself I was humbled when I set NOS4A2 down. If I could get to one of Joe’s book signings I would reenact the scene from Wayne’s World, kowtowing “I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy.”

When I first read A Heart Shaped Box I mentioned here, that I was clearing space on my bookshelves for all the Joe Hill novels to follow. I’m glad I left plenty of room.

Todays quote comes from Joe Hill’s first novel.

“He understood that the ghost existed first and foremost within his own head. That maybe ghosts always haunted minds, not places. If he wanted to take a shot at it, he’d have to turn the barrel against his own temple.”
― Joe HillHeart-Shaped Box

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Untwist those pantaloons, my vertically challenged friend and let’s get to it. You know if you don’t step up, Snarky’s whip is going to start nibbling on you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

