• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Snooze control or Goose bumps

First, I must correct a mistake from last weeks post. It was pointed out to me, Was is a verb. Was is not a strong verb, would be the politically correct thing to say. And because I’m so politically correct I’m owning this one. Oh, screw the wases that got their feelings hurt. I’m cutting them left and right. My writing cave is littered with the pesky little bastards. Here a was, there a was, everywhere a was was.

Writing is all about making great word choices. Any hack can fill a page with was and it’s counterparts. A writer worthy of the title will search for the stronger verb leaving the reader with a sense of being present. Another problem with was is, lake dialogue tags, was is almost invisible to the reader. If the reader doesn’t see it. How can the reader feel it. What is it doing there? It appears because every sentence needs a verb. A few wases will take their proper place on the pages of your brilliant manuscript. But like dialogue, tags the fewer the better.

I’m glad we cleared up the discrepancy from last weeks post. So let’s touch on the dreaded editing process. Removing was from a sentence is as easy as all that. the sentence has to be reconstructed to make it personal for the reader and a strong verb must be selected. As I stated last week, one percent of all the words in a short story I’d written a while back had to go. 72 sentence rewrites, 72 new words. 72 opportunities to give the reader goose bumps. Writing an active sentence is harder than searching for the errant was.There is a whole slew of things that can put the reader into snooze control, but was is a good place to start. Next week, if the Gods of language smile down upon us, I’ll talk about some of the other tell-tail words that will lead us to the passive sentence.

I’ll leave you with this quotation from Robert Southey.“

“By writing much, one learns to write well.”

Write On,

Eerie Dwarf

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. *coming up for air in a sea of dying was’s* I hate you, Eerie, really, have I mentioned how much I detest the fact you encouraged my Muse to set loose the Red Pens of War on my WIP and their hapless was inhabitants? CURSE YOU!
    30K words done, 486 was’s now deceased. It’s a massacre!

    Reply
  2. Awe, shucks. If I have instilled passion, my work here is done. Hate love it’s all the same. it’s the fire inside that matters most. I’m dropping was’s faster than indians in a John Wayne western.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

