• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Ideally…

A while ago Dreamer Dwarf wrote about the fantasy of having the time to go to a coffee shop and just write. I think all writers have this ideal of what writing life is supposed to be like. I imagine that I can wake up early (not likely as I am a total night owl), have a lovely cup of coffee (okay more likely Diet Coke), and have a productive morning where the Muse feeds me brilliant dialogue before I continue on my day.

Reality is not so kind. It is so easy to excuse my slackery and say tomorrow will be better. Sometimes tomorrow is better but I know that every day has to be better. It is common knowledge that the Muse is not always present and that life does not make it easy to fit writing in. On the other hand as a writer I know from my research that the main reason why some authors are successful is because they sit their ass in the chair and write, hell or high water.  I myself have reached the point where I will get it done if it’s just hell, but if there’s a flood, I’ll just go look for my raft. It’s usually in the form of my bed.

I’ve read the story about how they got up at four am just to fit it in. That is commitment. I need that commitment. The Evil Dwarves have let me slack due to school but that is no longer an excuse as I have graduated (go me!). So this is it guys time to put up or shut up because as I have said often I would like a career where pants are optional. Mind you, I will likely wear pants. It would be my luck that the apartment would catch on fire and I would have to run out of the building holding cats under each arm in my skivvies,  but they will be yoga pants, because SPANDEX ALLLLLLLL SPANDEX!

In other news I have recently relocated to another swamp known as Chicago. The city itself is very inspiring. The conversations on the train are priceless and I have seen some fairly entertaining fights. I do not condone violence myself, but if two old men want to fight at a bus stop, I’m not getting in their way.  I am however listening to what they’re saying because it can be stored away later for ridiculous male banter.  So let’s all take this moment to commit to AICHOK (Ass In Chair, Hands On Keys). 

Okay? Commitment reaffirmed? Good. I myself find that it helps to have a buddy to keep you accountable, kinda like Weight Watchers or AA. Snarky and Wicked are my Author’s Anonymous. We text each other daily with word counts. They are my cheerleaders and whip masters. So buddy up ya’ll it’s easier to get through with a friend. Plus when the Muse is being a bitch you have someone to vent to.  

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Yoga Pants?

    Reply
  2. Jim, you have to know what yoga pants are. I’m sure Maria has a few pairs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

