• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

New Urban Fantasy Bestseller… Not!

I have two fabulous friends who write incredible urban fantasy stories (Jami and Amber).  Recently, I started playing around with an urban fantasy novel idea, even though it’s a little out of my typical comfort zone.  One day I actually found a short period of time to write, so I sat down and typed the first chapter of my new novel.  After that, I got busy for several days, before I had another opportunity to read what I wrote.  But when I did, I cringed.  It was cheesy, predictable, and just awful!  I kind of thought if I created a kick-butt main character, a hot romance, and an interesting plot, all of it would just come together.  I was so wrong.

Some stories just don’t work.  They’re doomed to fail before a single word is written, because the story itself is just bad.  I don’t think that’s what happened here.  I’m not sure if it was the lack of sleep or my lack of experience in this genre, but the experience got me thinking.  If some of my absolute favorite authors attempted writing in a different genre, would they be any good?  Would their ability translate to anything they wrote?  Would they just need to work harder for a good end result?

I’m still not entirely sure why this novel attempt was so laughably bad, but I do plan to revisit the idea, at some point.  I feel like the only way I’ll really know what happened is by putting a little more work into it.  So, even though you’ll likely not see my name on any urban fantasy bestseller list anytime soon, I haven’t entirely abandoned this genre.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It’s good to get out of your comfort zone. Expand your horizons. Spread your wings. I had to get those cliches out of my system.

    Reply
  1. A thought… | Benign guy

Leave a Reply

