• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

I Have to Do What?

So, I have hit the quarter mark in my third rewrite of my WIP. Huzzah! I know it’s early but I finally feel like the book is going in the right direction so I’m pretty stoked. I have a self- imposed deadline to finish this sucker by the end of September, because I have a list. Ugh, lists are the devil but they are often necessary. Why, you may ask, is the list necessary? Because finishing the book is only the first step in what I hope will be my grand career. So here goes:

1. Finish novel by the end of September.

2. Edit said novel.

3. Send to critique group.

4. Edit said novel again.

5. Write a kick ass query letter. Send out, and repeat as necessary.

That is only one list in the grand scheme of things. On top of trying to finish and send out this manuscript I also have some plans with Wicked aka Jami Gray. We are going to New Orleans in May for the Romantic Times Booklovers Convention. My hope is to have a contract by then but we’ll have to see what happens. Now in anticipation for the Convention and hopeful publication I have another list.

1. Start writing on my own personal blog.

2. Create website, which includes bribing my more tech savvy friends to help a girl out. In essence I know what I want for a banner but I need someone who is more skilled than I to make that happen. Also, there’s all that setting crap up, thing.

3. Get headshots for said website. Luckily on that front I know a guy (my dad enjoys photography in his spare time).

4. Get business cards (who knew a writer needed business cards).

5. Work enough to pay for all of the above and still have time to write.

I think all writers know that the yesteryear of writing a book in seclusion and then sending it out to a publisher and moving on to the next one is sadly gone. We need to promote ourselves and build an audience. We all hope that our book will go out and become an instant bestseller. Reality is rarely so kind, recall my previous post about dumb questions “Why don’t you just write the next Twilight/Harry Potter/ 50 Shades?” It is important to look at publishing as a business. I would write even if I didn’t plan hope that it would be my career, though in all honesty I would write less because it would be a hobby without deadlines.

The goal is to work sans pants so everything I am doing right now is to reach that goal. I’m hoping it will be fun along the way but it may be a hot stressful mess. I’m okay with that as long as everything gets done. It will, I am determined.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lists are part of a writer’s survival kit, every writer has lists…lots and lots of lists…..

    Reply
  2. Dear Determined, remember you will face rejections, and setbacks along the way. Don’t worry that’s why we’re here, you know to kick you when you’re down. NO NO I meant to prop you up when you’re hurting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

