• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Bed Bugs, Kerfuffles, and Word Counts, Oh My!

This week has been filled with some fairly mundane excitement. Sounds like an oxymoron I know but it is what it is. In the beginning of the week we had a bed bug scare. Everyone cringing at the word bed bug, I feel you. Good news is my apartment was inspected and we don’t have any. Thank god because I prefer my creepy crawlies and bloodsuckers to appear only in novels. Wouldn’t that be a charmed life. Also there has been some discord with the neighbor. I was slightly involved in that I said something rude when I was being verbally abused.

Things aren’t back to normal yet but I’m sure it will blow over. At least I hope so because I prefer my life to be drama free. Still it was enough to upset my writing schedule. Jami, Amber and I have been very good about participating in “Word Watchers/Authors Anonymous” aka texting daily word counts but none of us has been perfect. The bug scare had me spending the night unpacking. Yes, I moved four months ago, no I wasn’t completely unpacked. Reading online that vermin enjoy clutter fixed that real fast. The household cats seem to enjoy the room now that it is spaciously free from boxes and that is great because anyone who knows me, knows that I live to serve cats.

After the altercation I was too wound up to get a good word count. I don’t like confrontation (again except in novels) so my reaction was stress. I cured it with a Twinkie and watching Supernatural which didn’t ease my stress as much as I had hoped because a favorite character was killed off *sigh.* Jami and Amber have had less unusual excuses such as family in town, work, sinus infections, kids. I am the weirdo with city problems.

Whereas I don’t miss school at this point I would say that I miss having it as an excuse. I’m sorry I can’t do yadda yadda yadda, I have homework. While it was legitimate it was also a crutch. Not everyone is going to be Stephen King and get 2k every day unless an act of God intercedes. That’s fine because I’m still way better than I was last month and last month I was better than the month before. So if you’re having an off day and skip your word count, don’t be too harsh on yourself. Life’s little problems will pass and you’ll be better tomorrow. At least you better be because rumor is Amber has a whip and Jami will supportively tell you that she understands while telling you to get “something” down. I’m not sure which I’m more scared of: the whip, or disappointing Jami. El Oh El.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

