• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Hurdles and Brick Walls #AmWriting

There comes a point in every book, at least for me, where I run into a brick wall.

Like, from writing smoothly to dead stop.

Sometimes it’s the dreaded (and ambiguous) writer’s block, but more often than not, for me, it’s the sagging middle syndrome.

I only do a brief, skimpy outline. I have to have it, but I don’t like to get super detailed, and it’s never set in concrete. Which means that by the time I reach the 50-60% mark of the book, I find I’ve deviated so much, I need to re-track and see exactly how I want to get to the end (which usually writes itself for me).

This time, though, I’m at the 75% mark–which is usually where I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and the writing flows. Ya know, climatic fight scenes and resolution of the characters.

I couldn’t believe it.

I thought I’d skipped the wall this time.

Needless to say, my weekend plans of sprinting and *hoping* if not to finish the book, then to actually be damn close, went up in smoke.

It took me a read through of what I’ve written so far, and two days of muttering, wandering aimlessly, and trying to chisel brick, but I finally figured it out.

The pacing is off. My characters are doing things way too fast.

Which means, I need to go back and add quite a few scenes in what I have written.

And that means, yup, I am really only about 50% of the way through the book.

The brick wall hit at the right time, it just seemed wrong because I thought I was closer to the finish line than I truly am.

But at least now, that brick wall is a lot shorter. Short enough for me to jump over it : )

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. S. Thomas Summers | The Book and the Brick: Why Make More?

Leave a Reply

