• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

FAVORITE FICTIONAL CHARACTERS

banner1revised

Greetings and Salutations,

I’m still getting used to the changes around here. The Swamp isn’t as murky as it used to be. The air is less rancid and my fellow residents seem less surly. Something’s a foot. I’ll have to keep a sharp eye on any other changes.

Back to the topic at hand, characters and what about them endears them to you reader specifically?

A character must create emotion in the reader. This is not optional. If the reader loses interest in my characters they will wonder why they should bother turning the page. Once the reader starts wondering anything except, “what an unbelievable asshole” my character is I’ve failed. My wonderful work of fiction becomes a replacement for that broken leg on grandma’s favorite chair.

What attracts readers to a character? Let’s take the underdog for instance. The reader identifies with a well-meaning character who is on the wrong side of every door. This will hold them for five or ten pages. In those five or ten pages I must give my character a personality, a goal, and an obstacle. The reader has to hurt for this poor schlep.

Once the reader feels his pain you have set the hook. Now you can spin a subplot or two. You can overcome an obstacle only to be confronted by a larger one dead ahead. You can have his heart-broken by a demanding woman. ( some might say a demanding woman is redundant, but I digress.)

One of my favorite fictional characters is Judas Coyne, from Joe Hill’s novel A Heart Shaped Box. Judas is an aging ex-rocker, he is a self-absorbed survivor of an industry that promotes live hard and die young. He managed the former and escaped the later with his ego mostly intact. BUT, I care what happens to Jude, by the time I got to page five I felt his pain. I wanted to ease his burden. I read until my eyes bled that night.

153025

Tell me about your own favorite characters. Who are they and why do you remember them. Have you gone back to read the novel again or was once enough. I’ll post your comments here and we’ll have some fun.

Next week I’ll share the first paragraph of my work in progress to see if the character comes to life for any you.

In the mean time as is our custom here I’ll leave you with a Quotation.

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”
― Marilyn Monroe

Write On,

Eerie Dwarf

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. A favorite? That’s next to impossible.

    A few come to mind: The Ranger in John Flanagan’s Ranger series.
    Alana in Tamara Pierce’s four-book Alana series.

    Reply
  2. *whine* just one character? You are too cruel, Eerie, too cruel. Alright, let me go with…Kate Daniels from Ilona Andrew’s Magic Bites (Sorry, Mighty, I got here first).
    This is how she is introduced:

    “I sat at a table in my shadowy kitchen, staring down a bottle of Boone’s Farm Hard Lemonade, when a magic fluctuation hit. My wards shivered and died, leaving my home stripped of its defenses. The TV flared into life, unnaturally loud in the empty house.
    I raised my eyebrow at the bottle and bet it that another urgent bulletin was on.
    The bottle lost.” –Ilona Andrews, MAGIC BITES

    In five sentences I know a great deal about Kate. Despite her flaws, her humor (aka voice) pulls me right in and I keep reading.

    Wicked

    Reply

Leave a Reply

