• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Fright-day canceled

banner1revised

Greetings And Salutations,

As you know (if you’ve been following along) We’ve been interviewing authors who (for lack of a better term) are gone. Their are better terms, but the dead are sensitive about being referred to as dead, deceased, expired, passed on, departed, no more, perished, fallen, beyond the grave, or lost. They especially don’t like to be called LATE. I’m not sure why, but trust me when I tell you, the late insert name, will provoke a ghost to violence. I’ve the bruises to prove it.

To get to my point, because i do have a point here somewhere if I can only find it. Oh, here it is, my guest cancelled for today. At the last-minute I might add. Something about a grandmother who passed on (did you feel something), as if I’m buying that one. The truth is they were out late last night partying with fiends,(there that, did you feel that?) I meant friends. Honest I meant friends.

Evidently, All Hallows Eve is to the departed, (something hit me) what New Years Eve is to the living. Rumor has that many spirits were imbibed to excess. (OUCH, what was that?) Spirits may be a bad choice of word in this case. Let’s just say there are a lot of hangover remedies being consumed today by those who were formerly among the living. (CRAP, that really hurt.)

As you may be able to tell, this last-minute cancellation has thrown me off my game. And I seem to be incurring the wrath of those all too sensitive ghoooo. (That’s enough. That one’s going to leave a mark. Does anybody have an ice pack?) Let’s move on before I wind up in the ER.

The dreaded, write until your fingers bleed, NANO November arrived today. For those of you participating, your are excused from reading my blog. Go. Throw down as many adjectives and adverbs as you can. Include a little hoop-de-doodle. You will no doubt be editing all this out come December.  But, hey, good luck. We’ll see you next month.

For those of you who are pretending NANO doesn’t exist, like me, we’ll focus on reading today. October is national book month. It’s always something month. When is national procrastination month? I forgot, it’s been postponed. But I digress again.

I re-read two Stephen King novels last month. I don’t often re-read books because there are too many books to read in one life time. I was so moved because of a thread on Goodreads. It started out innocently enough when a reader who had been raised in a cave, under a rock, by wolves, admitted to never having read a Stephen King novel. They asked for recommendations, the list filled up with thousands of responses within days. My own included.

photo 1

My automatic response when asked for my favorite SK novel is always The Dark Half. It’s been so many years since I read it, I thought I should read it again. It is still my favorite. This in no way should be misconstrued as me saying this is his best work or any other nonsense. It is simply a story I enjoyed so much, that it springs to mind all these years later. I still love it. I love most of SK’s writing. I once joked that I would read his shopping list if someone would publish it.

photo 2

But the idea that a pen name could be put to rest by an author only to come back to life to take his revenge on those who, in his eyes killed him. I mean come on. That’s extraordinary. And I’m not talking about any old pen name. Mr. George Stark is an exceptionally sensitive guy. He took the announcement of his death hard. Thad Beaumont, (the writer behind Stark) is a mild-mannered college professor, husband, and dad, who wouldn’t hurt anyone. George Stark on the other hand adopts the cruel behavior of Alexis Machine, the character in Stark’s books. A vicious straight razor wielding psychopath. The lint is jumping out of my belly button in fright, just thinking about it.

As a writer myself, I will never adopt a pen name. I’m afraid of what might happen. If you think that’s silly, I suspect you haven’t read The Dark Half lately.

I will leave you with a short excerpt from The Dark Half By Stephen King. until next week; Sleep tight, and keep “happy thoughts”

“Im giving you instruction here. Are you paying attention to me.”

Yes Mr. Machine.”

“Then hear this, and never forget it. Any any fool with fast hands can take a tiger by the balls, but it takes a hero to keep on squeezing. I’ll tell you something else, while I’m at it: only heroes and quitters walk away, Jack. No one else. And I’m no quitter.”

–Machines Way  By George Stark from The Dark Half By Stephen King.

Write On,

Dave Benneman AKA Eerie Dwarf

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. NoNo to Nano this year… 😉

    Reply
  2. I’m in agreement

    Reply
  3. Good to know there will be two other sane members in our group this year.

    Reply
  4. You got that right Buttercup.That nano thing is INCONCEIVABLE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

