• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Fright-days Welcome ???

Greetings and Salutations,

We’re continuing our interviews of famous authors today albeit they are from beyond the grave. Normally I know who is coming so I can prepare myself for the interview, but this week there seems to be some confusion, or maybe the spirits decided to surprise me. Last week Robert Bloch promised to put in a word for me with H.P. Lovecraft. I do hope Mr. Lovecraft is coming and true to his nature, he is being mysterious about it.

A nearby gravestone overturns and from the mist walks…

“I’m sorry, I was expecting someone else.”

“I’m sure you were old hoss.” He said with a smile that never reached his eyes. “But I’m who you get.”

“Yes,” my voice shook. “And you would be?”

The apparition stepped in closer. Too close. “It’s going to be like that is it, old hoss?” His voice was smooth, calm, and intimidating.

“I don’t mean to offend, I really don’t recognize you.” I back up a step to create some room between us and to escape to pungent odor he carries with him..

“Why I’m Richard Bachman. You know me now?

RichardBachman

“Ahhh, but you aren’t real your just a–

RB; “Don’t go losing your happy thoughts there hoss, you know what happens when you lose your happy thoughts, don’t you?”

“If memory serves me right, you fall out of the sky.”

RB; “That’s right old hoss, see now, I think we’ll get on just fine, you just keep them happy thoughts.”

“Very well.” He can smell the fear on me, I know it. “let’s start with your body of work. There was Rage, The long Walk, Roadwork, and the The Running Man. Four stark and chilling novels.”

200px-Roadwrk1-191x300-1200px-Bachman_Long_Walk-198x300

Runningmanbachman

Thinner1-1

TheRegulatorsRB; “Let’s not forget Thinner, one of my favorites. Then The Regulators and Blaze. There are others too.”

“I’m not very well prepared for this interview I do hope you will bear with me.”

RB; “Of course Davey boy, I don’t want to hurt you.”Blazecat-197x300

“Good to know. So back to Thinner, yes, I remember it very well, the strawberry pie, wow. That was a brilliant ending. The Regulators and Blaze were both published postmortem as I recall.”

RB; “About that, you see, that’s kind of why I’m here. I was cut down in my prime. Lot’s of good stories left up here.” He taps his temple with a finger. “If you catch my drift? I plan on telling them too. I’ve just have to get Stevo’s attention.

“How do you plan to get his attention? Surely, you don’t think Stephen King reads my blog.” This elicits a soft terrifying laugh.

RB; “No Davey boy, Our Mr King is much to important to be reading this fluff. Although if he knew I was coming, maybe. No, of course not. First things first, there is a thing to square away with that bookstore clerk. Mr. Steve Brown and me, we have a little settling up to do. After that I’ll be getting in touch with Stevo.”

“I say this with the up most respect Mr. Bachman, sir, how exactly are you going to do anything, you are as the say passed on? I believe you succumbed to are rare form of pseudonym cancer.”

RB; A pearl handled straight razor flashes in front of my face. “I’ll show you what a pseudonym can do to that ugly mug of your’s if keep it up Davey boy.”

“Maybe–we–should–get back to your writing and save this other stuff for another time.” The moon light reflects off the blade as it whispers past my face. “Or not.”

RB; “We can talk about my new book after I take care of some personal business, but right now I’ve got to travel.”

“Where are you going Mr. Bachman?”

RB; “Endsville, where all rail service terminates.”

But you can’t leave the unconsecrated graveyard. This is–

RB; “Wrong again old hoss, I can and will be leaving here. So, all you good folks out there keep a weather eye out for my next book it’s going to be a killer.” He let’s loose that sinister laugh again and walks away. His tall hulking form and broad shoulders obscuring the moon light.

“I don’t think he’s a very nice guy. If any of you can reach Stephen King, tell him, the starlings are flying.”

I hope Mr. Bachman returns soon. In the meanwhile I’ll leave you with this quotation from, Stephen King, On Writing.

“Description begins in the writer’s imagination, but should finish in the reader’s.”

Write On,

Dave Benneman

http://www.davebenneman.com

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. misterk3

     /  November 22, 2013

    great post! i talk about books on my blog too, visit it if u want 🙂
    http://loscrittoreimpenitente.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  2. I’ll be checking you out, because there is no greater adventure than reading a book. Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply
  3. Um, psst…Eerie, think maybe we should send Mischievous over to warn Steve? Like both of them? I don’t think Richard’s quite right…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

