• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Cursing Mondays and Negative Temperatures

First of all Happy Birthday Jami! Wicked celebrated her 29th today and despite an afternoon filled with errands I have faith she will end it on a high note. I suggest a book and a bubble bath. My post today doesn’t have much to do with writing because while Monday is the beginning of the work week for many it is often my weekend because the job that pays the bills is of the wait staff variety. I should be using this lovely day off to get things done. I however have made a new rule: if the temperature is negative, I don’t have to do anything.  Seems legit, right?

Today my greatest accomplishments were brushing my teeth and heating up a pizza. I would like to say that I spent the day reading something amazing or watching some documentary that made me a better person for having watched it. Instead I will tell you I have wasted the day (though is it really wasting if you are having a blast?) watching one of the trashiest shows I have ever had the privilege to watch: The Only Way is Essex. It’s The Hills meets Real Housewives meets a Friday night in Scottsdale, Arizona.

I know it’s bad, but damn it, it’s fun. That and I’m learning some interesting British lingo. I’m going to start calling everything I like “lovely” or “gorgeous.”  Here we go, I now have a writing tie in for everyone. This week I have had a few discussions with coworkers on language use. The context was that one of my friends is Romanian (yes she will threaten to drink your blood if you annoy her enough) another is a new coworker lived in Spain for a couple of years.

Both women mentioned that the curse words in Spanish and Romanian are far worse than American curse words. I asked for examples and whereas both women said that they don’t translate well, I was suitably impressed by the general idea. I myself am a self-proclaimed sailor. I enjoy cursing and though I will restrain myself in church and in the presence of grandmother and small children, it is who I am.

My friend who lived in Spain would translate some curses for me she admitted that she herself feels very uncomfortable cursing. We came to the conclusion that if you are a sailor you need to own it, otherwise it sounds ridiculous. So the writing tip of the day will be: make sure you use dialogue that is true to your characters otherwise they will sound ridiculous…and the Monday ramble is complete. 

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Much love and thanks for the bday wishes, oh Mighty one. Cursing, it’s such a lovely way to enhance dialog. Especially when used correctly….btw, we miss your colorful conversational inserts over here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

