• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Writing Genres

Everything I read shapes what I write, for better or worse. My typical genre has always been YA Fantasy, but I have been reading a lot of new things lately. I started devouring one particular author’s High Fantasy novels and fell in love with them. In High Fantasy, the time spent world building and developing characters seems limitless. And so, I decide to start playing around with writing in this genre.

The process has been so fun! I’m able to really take my time exploring every aspect of my characters, on a whole new level. I know not everything I carefully craft on my first draft will make it to my final product, but I’m still enjoying having the freedom to write this way.

What genre do you write in or read in, and why? What draws you to it?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I agree reading molds your writing which is why it is so important to stretch yourself. Read some of everything. The problem is so much of popular fiction has been dumbed down. When I seek out new writers, often lesser known writers, I often find extraordinary works that create breathtaking scenes using wonderful language. These are the moments I drop to my knees and chant, I’m not worthy.

    Reply
  2. I’m with Dave. The more widely read you are, the better off you are in whatever genre you choose. How else do you discover new voices, new approaches to dialog, world building, characters, etc., than through other author perspectives. Personally, I love my UF and Paranormal Suspense, but I’m looking at stretching out into other areas just to see what happens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

