• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Shading Our Pieces

I believe creativity in any form helps my muse. So, I have taken up drawing this summer with my kids. One lesson in particular focused on shading—a complicated task for a novice like me. Shading with a simple pencil, when done correctly, adds dimension and depth to a piece.

As I am now wrestling with editing my novel, I can’t help but see the similarities with the two art forms: writing and drawing.

At times, I feel my 75,000 word rough draft is a long outline. I wanted to get the story out so badly that it is missing the characterization and emotional depth that I feel is necessary. So now, as I go back through the story I have begun to layer it. I find myself adding setting, senses, and emotional reactions that were previously missing.

Granted my novel, feels time consuming than the simple picture I drew, but I hope the time I put into layering my story will help it grow into the adventure I originally dreamed of.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. And that’s what will set your writing apart. Depth of story, of characters, of world building, those are all part of what sucks readers in.

    Reply
  2. I actually just read your latest submission, and I definitely see you applying this new way of thinking to your writing. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I agree that creativity in any form, even if we’re terrible at the medium at hand, helps us to get into a nonlinear way of thinking. Helping us to open our minds to tell a story. That’s who we are, we are story tellers, first and foremost.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

