• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Inspired by Peru

Yes, ninja dwarf has returned and in one piece (the 25 students returned in one piece too). After a month of crazy adventures – cab that turned on its side, Earthquake, student’s buying a lamb and trying to figure out a way to bring it back to the states – I’m ready to dive back into the writing world.

Living in a foreign country for a month, however, I couldn’t help but be influenced by Peru and everything it has to offer, especially Machu Picchu. So I’m sitting on the hillside of Machu Picchu, looking out at the green hills and deep valley, and in awe of the rich culture and history of the place. Naturally (because I’m obsessed and need help), my mind turns to writing.

I think about all the stories I love, and part of what I love is how they all seem well-grounded in a rich time and place. Whether that’s 1950’s Midwest America, Colonial Africa, or modern day London. I’m drawn into a different world that feels real and exciting. Lucky for me, Machu Picchu feels both foreign and familiar since, growing up in Arizona, I have always been familiar with native American culture.

And it clicks. In a way it never has before. I’ve always known to write what I know, but I tend to apply that to emotions, relationships, and experiences. Never before have I seriously thought about applying the theory to setting and culture. Thus, the culture of Machu Picchu inspires me to draw on the Arizona Native American culture that I’m familiar with. I realize the wealth of knowledge I have which I can use to construct a story which readers will find different and exciting.

The words flow, and the first two chapters of a new story almost write themselves. The entire world – culture, people, conflicts – just fall into place. Essentially, I’ve re-learned a lesson for the umpteenth time, and which I’ll probably re-learn many times over in the future. Write what you know.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Bravo Ninja Dwarf, your first post. And well done. I too found inspiration when I traveled to Peru. In the jungles along the Amazon river with the people who live at the whim of the mighty river and the spirituality I found at Machu Picchu.

    Reply
  2. Nice to have you back, Ninja. Didn’t hear you slip home in the middle of the night. Glad to see all the acolytes that followed you down south made it back and no sacrifices were needed. Although I’m not sure the goat would’ve done too week between C. A. Dile and the Swamp Thing…or the Werewolf Monks for that matter….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

