• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

The Hobbit.

Greetings Earthlings!

I’m Tom Hansen. I’m the Dreary Dwarf and rather new here.

As an introduction of you to me and me to the blog, I wanted to share a thought about The Hobbit.

This is my third or fourth time reading the book and yes, I’m doing it mainly to get pumped up for the third movie coming out December 17th. (The trailer was just released yesterday.)

This time, I’m listening to the Hobbit rather than reading, and I’m learning a lot more about the world and the characters than I did the last few times I read it.

I attribute this mostly to my speed-reading habit. Epic Fantasy is my go-to genre for book reading and, because of their length, I’ve fallen into a habit of skimming certain parts when it’s just world building, or a long conversation.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my epic fantasy book, particularly when they’re pushing those of epic proportions (cough Brandon Sanderson/Patrick Rothfuss/George RR Martin) but because of their length I find myself skimming sometimes.

Listening to the books forces me to slow down and I pick up things I didn’t before. I fully plan on picking up the Lord of the Rings trilogy in audio following this. After that we will have to see.

Who here has read/listened to the same book? Which do you prefer?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Welcome, Dreary!

    I’m a big fan of talking books. Also dramatisations. The BBC versions of The Hobbit and LOTR are both very good indeed. I recorded them off the radio when first broadcast, and have since converted them to MP3. Ian Holm (Bilbo in the film) plays Frodo, which is a nice bit of trivia.

    It’s a good way to get books read in the car. It’s also a good way to _share_ a book. The family listened to True Grit on a holiday in England last year, and we really enjoyed it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

