• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Ideaifying Pt 4: Brainstormening 2

Since this blog series is starting to take on a life of it’s own, and I don’t rightly know how many parts we are going to have, I’m going to stick with Brainstormening as the subtitle for now since that’s what we’re doing.

Like last week, I’m going to spend some time with a brainstorming exercise. Let’s launch right into it then analyze what I come up with.

***Beginning of brainstorming dump***

So let’s talk about the girl:

Celeste. I like this name. It’s pure, it’s beautiful. I don’t rightly know if it’s actually a biblical name or not, but I like it none the less. So let’s stick with this shall we?

Who is she? Well in order to be able to see the angels, she would have to be part angel, just like Peter. I almost want to toy with the idea of her being the product of a demon and a human, or a demon and angel, but let’s stick with angels for now. No need to complicate an already complicated storyline.

Differences between her and Peter. Let’s start with what is different because that is where we will see the conflict.

Instead of hearing Angels screaming all the time, maybe she sees their faces but they are always calm, maybe not smiling around her, but calm, collected. No emotions and they stare off blankly. They’re always in her peripheral vision, much like Peter, but never in front of her face. They never make noise, that is, until Peter shows up.

She’s a little younger than him, sixteen perhaps? She’s always viewed them as her guardian angels. So here’s the tricky question: did she notice them disappear? Ooh. That could make or break the story. I could go a few different ways here:

* She’s young enough to not remember them disappearing, so that would make her like eight or nine.

* She never saw them before they suddenly showed up in her vision one day, I could make her older at this point, possibly within range of her being a love interest with Peter.

* She did see them doing good before, then suddenly they were gone. This also keeps her within love-interest territory for Peter, but also shows us that since they went from helping people to following her around, whatever happened to the angels was different.

* She could have just accepted that this was life and moved on, or maybe she kept it a secret. She felt God or something just favored her with a secret that she couldn’t give out. This might work better if she’s a little girl instead of a woman though.

* Because of the angels surrounding her, maybe she has a lot of luck. Maybe Peter does too. Only it’s not luck per-se, it could be the simple fact that they are both half-angel and have slightly better things happen to them than regular humans.

Possible “good benefits” of being half-angel:

*Slight precognition. i.e. you can sense that someone is going to punch you so you turn around before it happens.

* Slightly faster reflexes

* Not as tired after a lot of exercise.

* A general “feeling” of what to do and when. This can be an extension of  the precognition. They in general know where they should be and a general timeframe, but sometimes, when it’s going to help them avoid something catastrophic, they can get much more specific info in a more timely manner, but it’s not always exact.

“TURN AROUND AND PUNCH” the feeling might say.

“Don’t go down this alley.”

“Be in the park before the sun sets.”

“Be out of the park before the sun sets.”

Stuff like that.

So what does she do right now? Maybe she’s a researcher, or a student, just trying to keep her head down and out of trouble. I have to imagine that the world hasn’t come to a complete grinding halt, it’s just that the world is a lot more harsh nowadays. You have to work that much harder to stay ahead. Crime rates have basically doubled across the board, so have death rates, maybe tripled or quadrupled even.

Gangs run a lot of the places now.

***End of brainstorming dump***

Well well. That was fun. Now let us dissect what it was I just wrote and pick out the things that I like:

  • I love the name Celeste.
  • I like her silent angels bit.
  • I also like the idea that Celeste and Peter’s fates are inescapably intertwined. I think having them stay around the same age range is good. If Peter is 20, maybe make her a little younger, 17 or so, in order to hold on to a little bit of that childhood innocence. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but something in my mind tells me that it could be key to whatever big mystery we are dealing with here.
  • I also like the luck/precognition portion. That might be a fun thing to explore, but it’s out of the scope for today’s post.

Note that as I brainstorm, I’m starting to lean more to a cooperative story, rather than Peter simply saving the girl. Of course this could drastically change the storyline, but we’re still in the brainstorming mode here, we have plenty of time to adjust/add/cut. You will probably notice wide swings in my feelings from one week to the next. I write these weekly, and that separation gives my subconscious a chance to mull on things so when I sit down next week I might have a different perspective. I prefer this method of world-building that sitting down and knocking it all out in a weekend. Give things time to percolate.

This is evident when I started the world. We started with screaming angels, then immediately jumped to a character and I’m working out the world from there. You could just as easily start with a specific conflict, or a scene in your head, a character trait, a painting, or an object. This is the beauty of brainstorming. Nothing is off the table, and tossing around ideas without a care to how good they are is my favorite part of this journey!

So how do you like Celeste? Do you like her differences from Peter, what about their similarities? What is her backstory, and how old do you see her being? Stay tuned next week as we continue down this crazy path and see where we end up.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Great blog right here! Also your site loads up fast!
    What host are you the use of? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink in your host?

    I desire my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

