• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Excuses

I haven’t posted anything about the evanescence story in a couple weeks, and of course I have myriad of excuses why I didn’t. I sat at a blank page wondering if I should barrel on through the creation of the middle (which is where we left off) or if I should do something else.

To be honest, I haven’t been “into” this story right now, so I figured , I should write a blog post about excuses.

We all have excuses, and some of them are actually valid. Many, however, are not. The first week that I missed my blog post I was on-call. I think that’s a valid excuse for not posting. It was a very busy week, I lost a fair amount of sleep that week due to issues overnight at work, and I was just lucky to have finished the week w/out going crazy.

The second week is where it starts getting fuzzy. Part of the week I told myself that I was “recovering” from on-call. While there is a small amount of truth to that, it’s really just a lie I tell myself to justify why I’m not working on something. The other thing I tell myself is that the blog posts I put up aren’t my ‘core writing.’ Again, there is truth to that statement. It’s something fun and different that I do that I really enjoy, but it’s not what I do when I “sit down to write”. It’s a side-project, one that I want to finish, but it’s definitely low priority when I have time to write.

My first main project, one the other Dwarves can attest to, is a Paranormal adventure/mystery book. It’s consuming most of my available-writing time right now, despite the fact that I already wrote this book for NaNoWriMo back in November. I’m currently in a complete re-write of the book due to some major flaws I found in my first draft. A lot of POV issues, too much telling, way too much backstory, and a lackluster ending made me realize pretty fast that I needed to go back to the core of the story I wanted to tell, and rewrite it from scratch.

So that’s what I’m doing. My main goal is to make sure I’m writing enough to keep submitting regularly to my writing group, editing said submissions, as well as critiquing my writing group’s stories. After that I work on this other side-project.

Maybe someday I’ll have the time to juggle multiple projects, and know that each one is contributing to my success as a writer, but for now, I only have a certain amount of time, and unfortunately the Evanescence story takes a back seat from time to time.

Till next week, keep writing!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

