• Who We Are

  • Schedule

    Mondays ~
    Tuesdays ~ Snarky
    Wednesdays ~ Dreamer
    Thursdays ~ Naughty
    Fridays ~ Dreary
    Saturdays ~
    Sundays ~

    Whenever ~ Smokey, Mighty, Eerie and Wicked

  • Snarky’s Tweets

  • Kinetic’s Tweets

  • Dreamer’s Tweets

  • Wicked’s Tweets

  • Eerie’s Tweets

  • Mighty’s Tweets

Ideaifying Pt 1: The Ideaifying

In this mini-series, I plan on taking a word through the world-building and idea phase, and flesh it out into a short story to be published on this site. Hang on, it will be a bumpy ride!

 

Story ideas.

 

I love listening to them when other authors tell me them. I love reading about new ones I hadn’t thought of while I’m reading, and I love coming up with them.

I especially love how easy ideas are to come up with.

What’s that? Easy?

Yes, I did say easy. I truly think ideas are free. Not open and willing to try things in college free, I mean truly free from an economic sense. Ideas are literally a dime a dozen, if not cheaper than that.

Ideas are everywhere. They are there when you walk down the road in your neighborhood. They are there when you overhear someone’s conversation while you stand in line at the checkout. They come from the frustrated looks of the cashier as she checks stretches her back from soreness while simultaneously smiling at the next one, all the while worrying about the look she’s getting from her boss behind her. Why does her back hurt? Why is the manager giving her the evil-eye? Is that smile sincere or half-hearted? Is she secretly a sleeper-agent from the ninja assassin guild of Greater Boise waiting to be activated and fulfill her mission to bring flowers to the cancer ward at the children’s center?

Ideas are beautiful, they are fleeting, and they are simple. You forget them if you don’t write them down. They come at the most inopportune moments. When you are driving, showering, bored in a meeting at work, or bowling with your family on a Friday night.

I have a document filled with hundreds of ideas for stories, characters, background, religions, and settings. I could spend the rest of my life writing book about just the stories I have already and never finish them, let alone all the ones I would come up with while I wrote those.

Ideas are magical, but it takes still to implement them, and this is the crux of the matter. Ideas are easy, the execution of the idea is the tough part to accomplish.

Today I will leave you with a single word, which I will discuss next week as an example of how to take a nugget of an idea and turn it into something you can work with.

Evanesce (as taken from the front page of Dictionary.com).

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I don’t even understand how I finished up right
    here, however I assumed this submit used to be great.
    I do not recognise who you might be but definitely you are going to a well-known blogger if you happen to are not already.

    Cheers!

    Reply
  2. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that
    I have truly enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing for your rss feed and I am hoping you write
    once more very soon!

    Reply
  1. Ideaifying Pt 2: The Brainening | The World of the 7 Evil Dwarves
  2. Ideaifying Pt 3: The Expandening | The World of the 7 Evil Dwarves

Leave a Reply

